Meet the Commissioners

The three commissioners are elected to four-year terms. The county is divided into three districts on the basis of population - click here to view Commissioner Districts Map. At the time of election, each commissioner must live in and represent his/her district. The commissioners are partisan and are nominated in a primary election encompassing only their district. In the general election, all county voters are given an opportunity to select the commissioners who ultimately serve.

Commissioner Mortensen_thumb.jpgArne Mortensen, District 1 - Vice Chair through 2022

Arne took office on January 1, 2017. His term expires December 31, 2024. Arne has an extensive technical and managerial experience in high tech communications. He retired from Qualcomm, Inc (San Diego, CA) in 2004 as a vice president of engineering. He has a BS in Physics from Harvey Mudd College and a PhD in Oceanography from Scripps Institution of Oceanography. Arne is fluent in Spanish and has lived in Venezuela, Spain, and India and has traveled extensively for business. Arne is the founder of the UCSD Bike Shop. His hobbies include bicycles, furniture making, and wood turning.  Committee assignments include: Area Agency on Aging and Disabilities of SW WA, Civil Service Disability Board, Clean Air Agency, Emergency Management Advisory Council, Law and Justice Council, North County EMS District, Noxious Weed Board, Pathways 2020, Southwest Washington Regional Airport Operating Board, Title III Local Emergency Planning Committee and Washington Counties Insurance Fund.

Dennis Weber, District 2 - Chair through 2022

Commissioner WeberChair Dennis started his first term on January 1, 2013. Dennis was elected Chairman for 2022. His current term expires December 31, 2024. Dennis served on the Longview City Council from 2002 to 2012 before being elected to the Board of County Commissioners. Dennis previously served as the Land Use Hearings Officer for the City of Kalama from 2000 to 2012. Dennis also served as the President of the Longview Education Association from 2010 to 2012. Dennis is currently an Officer of the Longview Early Edition Rotary Club. Dennis plays the violin for the Longview Symphony.  His board and committee assignments include: Cowlitz 911 Transit Authority, Cowlitz County Canvassing Board, Cowlitz Transit Authority, Cowlitz/Wahkiakum Council of Governments, Fair Board, IWOW Executive Committee (432/433), Law Library, Lower Columbia Community Action Council, Lower Columbia Fish Recovery Board, Park Board, Rodeo Board, Spirit Lake/Toutle/Cowlitz River System Collaborative, Treasuer - Finance Committee, Workforce Development Council, Great Rivers Behavioral Health Organization, WSAC Legislative/Federal Steering Committees and Workforce Development Council.

John Jabusch, District 3 -

John was appointed by the Governor December 2, 2021 and sworn into office December 7, 2021 to fill a vacancy through December 31, 2022.   John is a lifelong Cowlitz County resident.   He graduated from Kelso High School in 1977, Lower Columbia College in 1979, and WesternJohn Jabusch District  3 Washington University in 1981 with a bachelor’s degree in Business. John is married to Shelly Jabusch for 41 years and have 4 children and 7 grandchildren all who live in the local area. John is a shareholder of Pro Caliber Motorsports, Inc. with store locations in Vancouver, Washington and Bend, Oregon. John has served on several local boards, including the YMCA, county PFD board, Kelso Dugout Club and many years ago the CEDC. John has also been active in local youth sports activities, coaching youth baseball for 15 years, youth basketball through the YMCA and Rose Valley youth basketball programs. His Board and Committee assignments include: Building and Planning Advisory Council, Castle Rock/Toutle Regional Water System Board, Economic Development Council, Kelso-Longview Chamber Board of Directors, Lodging Tax Advisory Committee, Public Facility Board, Silver Lake Watershed Advisory Council, Hoof Disease Public Working Group, Three Rivers Regional Wastewater Authority.