Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
DOL Driver Licensing
Location214 S. Kelso DriveKelso, WA 98626
HoursMonday: ClosedTuesday: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.Wednesday: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.Thursday: 9:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.Friday: 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.Saturday: 8:30 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.Sunday: Closed Locate Washington Driver Licensing Offices
How to Register Your Vehicle You may title and register your vehicle in Washington State by mail or in person at a local vehicle licensing office.
Obtaining your Washington License
By law, you have 30 days to get your Washington driver license once you establish residency in Washington State.
How to establish residency in Washington
You’re considered a Washington resident when you do any of the following:•Arrive and begin establishing a home in Washington •Register to vote •Receive state benefits •Get any Washington State license at resident rates •Receive in-state tuition fees
Register to Vote
Register to vote online at the Secretary of State website or complete a voter registration form at any driver licensing office.
You can register to vote if you are:•A citizen of the United States;•A legal resident of Washington State; •At least 18 years old by Election Day;•Not under the authority of the Department of Corrections; and•Not disqualified from voting due to a court order. New to Washington
As the seller, you’re responsible for filing the report of sale. If you don’t file, you may be held liable for tolling bills, towing charges, and other civil or criminal liabilities incurred by the new owner. The new owner is responsible for transferring the title. You should file a report of sale within 5 days from the date your vehicle was:
•Sold•Given away (gifted)•Traded to a private party or dealer•Donated•Given to a wrecking yard•Turned over to an insurance company•Disposed of File a Vehicle Report of Sale online, or in person at a vehicle licensing office (service fees may apply).
You can come to the Auditor’s Office during regular business hours to view documents and request copies. The majority of recorded documents are available online.
District 1 - Arne Mortensen, term expires 12-31-2024
District 2 - Dennis Weber, term expires 12-31-2024
District 3 - Richard R. Dahl, term expires 12-31-2026
District 1 - includes Kalama, Woodland, Ariel, and Kelso east of Cowlitz River. District 2 - includes most of Longview and Kelso west of Cowlitz River. District 3 - includes West Longview, Castle Rock, and Ryderwood.
The commissioners regular formal public meetings are every Tuesday at 9 a.m. in the Commissioner's Hearing Room at 207 4th Avenue North, Third Floor, Room 303.The commissioners also hold regular public meetings every Tuesday at 1:30 pm and Wednesday at noon by zoom The agenda can be found here: https://www.co.cowlitz.wa.us/535/Agendas---Regular-Public-Meetings
A taxpayer’s petition must be filed or postmarked by July 1 of the current assessment year or 30 days after the date of mailing the value change notice, whichever is later. If the petition is mailed, it must be postmarked by midnight of the deadline. Mail to: Board of Equalization, 207 4th Avenue N, Kelso, WA 98626. Please do not wait until the last day to file an appeal. Even if you are discussing your property with the Assessor’s Office, you must file timely to reserve your right to appeal. Phone calls, letters, word of mouth, etc. do not reserve your right to appeal. You must have your appeal turned in in order for your appeal to be considered.
Yes! It’s always a good idea to review your valuation and make sure all the information is up to date. Property owners can often settle disagreements at this level without continuing the appeal process. However, citizens still need to reserve their appeal rights by filing petitions on time with the Board of Equalization.
All required questions must be answered on the petition form. A taxpayer must include specific reasons why they believe the Assessor’s valuation is not correct. The Assessor has the presumption of correctness. The amount of tax, assessed value of other properties, the percentage of assessment increase, personal hardship, and other matters unrelated to the market value cannot, by law, be considered by the Board. You must include your estimate of value, comparable sales or other supporting evidence. If you include additional evidence prior to the hearing, it must be received at least twenty-one (21) business days prior to the hearing.
State law requires the Assessor to value property at 100 percent of its true and fair market value in money, according to the highest and best use of the property. Market value is the amount of money a willing and un-obligated buyer is willing to pay a willing and un-obligated seller.
Most new construction, remodeling, and repair work that affect a building or structure will require a permit. The State of Washington under Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.27 and Cowlitz County have adopted the International Building, and Residential Codes, International Mechanical Code, Uniform Plumbing Code, and the International Fire Code as minimum construction standards for the state and Cowlitz County. While outlining minimum standards, these codes require permits to be issued, and inspections to be performed in order to verify compliance to the minimum construction standards. Specialists from Building, Planning, and Environmental Health (part of the Health Department) are available to help you determine what permitting will be required for your project or if you may have an exemption.
Electrical Permits can be obtained through Labor & Industries (L&I). Their local office is located at 711 Vine St, Kelso, WA 98626. You can get more information by calling them at (360) 575-6900 or visiting their website at lni.wa.gov, clicking on Licensing & Permits, then locate the permit type you are searching for.
The Washington State Building Code includes the 2015 International Building Code (IBC) and International Residential Code (IRC) as adopted pursuant to the Cowlitz County Code (CCC) Title 16. Please see our Design Criteria page for more details.
Mobile Home Alteration Permits can be obtained through Labor & Industries (L&I). Our local office is located at 711 Vine St, Kelso, WA 98626. You can get more information by calling them at (360) 575-6900 or visiting their website at lni.wa.gov, clicking on Licensing & Permits, then locate the type of permit you are searching for.
Planning staff are available to discuss these options. You can also arrange a Staff Consultation to get more specific details.
Divided lots must meet minimum requirements for lot size and lot width established by zoning and/or the Comprehensive Plan, as well as other standards related to health and safety. You can find zoning and comprehensive plan classifications using the EPIC online mapping tool.
Frequently Flooded Areas | Cowlitz County, WA - Official Website
Sure! Please see our staff consultation page for information on arranging a free preliminary meeting with County staff.
If you intend to develop some or all of the property with another use after harvest, you can obtain a permit from Cowlitz County. Contact a Planner to discuss the permit process.
Removing land from DFL status is not a permit to harvest trees. Talk with a Planner about timber harvest options to best achieve your goals.
Yes! Public defenders are just as “real” as private criminal defense lawyers and civil lawyers. All the attorneys at the Cowlitz County Office of Public Defense graduated from college and law school and have met the same Washington State Bar Association requirements to practice law in the courts of this state.
Absolutely not. Although the Cowlitz County Office of Public Defense is funded by county government, the office is an independent agency separate and apart from the prosecutor’s office and the court. Our lawyers are loyal to their clients first and are bound by codes of professional conduct requiring that they provide zealous advocacy and protection to each client, the same as private lawyers.
Unfortunately, no. Our office is only authorized to give legal advice to clients whom the courts have assigned to us to represent. Unless you are a client, we cannot give legal advice or answer legal questions.
If formal charges are filed against you, an arraignment will be scheduled. The arraignment is not a trial and not a time when evidence can be presented. At most arraignments, a copy of the charges you will be provided to you, if you do not have a lawyer, the judge can determine if you are eligible for a public defender. Expect to have a plea of “not guilty” entered at your arraignment. Your case normally will be scheduled for a status hearing, omnibus hearing, and trial. You must attend your arraignment hearing.
A pre-trial hearing (or omnibus hearing) is the court proceeding where you and your lawyer will indicate whether you will either go to trial, settle the case with a plea of guilty, or ask for extra time. You may find that the courtroom is crowded when you arrive, and that you have to wait before you can meet with your court-appointed lawyer. However, no action will be taken on your case before you and your lawyer have talked. Your lawyer might have one or more legal forms for you to read and sign. You must attend your pre-trial hearing.
The trial readiness is a hearing when we let the court know if you are ready for trial the following week. You must attend trial readiness hearing.
WA trial is the court proceeding where the prosecutor will present evidence and try to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you are guilty of a crime. This is the hearing when witnesses testify. Through your lawyer, you will be able to question the witnesses against you and present witnesses on your own behalf. Most trials are decided by a jury, but some are decided by a judge alone. You have a right to a jury trial.
A sentencing hearing will take place only if you are found guilty at a trial or if you agree to plead guilty. The court proceeding is handled by the judge, who will use the recommendations of the prosecutor and your lawyer: sometimes the judge has input from other people such as a probation or DOC officer, the listed victim and people who support you. In felony cases the Sentencing Guidelines are used to determine your sentencing range. You always have the right to speak at your sentencing hearing. The judge will consider many things to determine your sentence.
The courts are working very hard to avoid having lots of people in a small place. Many court hearings are occurring via Zoom and you can log on to the Zoom link for your court appearance.
When using Zoom, be sure that you are muted and only speak when your case is called. You can press *67 to mute and unmute yourself.
A limited number of cases are occurring in person. For in person hearing you will need to wear a facemask in court, observe 6ft social distancing and may be required to take your temperature. If you cannot attend in person because you’re running a fever or have been recently exposed to someone or diagnosed with COVID. Should that occur, you will need to call our office immediately!!
If you are in jail or juvenile detention, your attorney will come see you to discuss your case. If you are out of custody, your attorney will contact you to discuss your case. If you have not heard from your attorney, please call the office. Clients are seen by appointment only and phone contact is often the best way to reach your attorney. You can always email your attorney at the email listed in the staff directory.
A bench warrant is issued by a judge when a person with a pending criminal case violates the rules of the court. Sometimes a warrant is issued for violating pre-trial release conditions. Most often, people with bench warrants simply have failed to show up for a scheduled court appearance. Once a bench warrant is issued, the police can treat it like any other warrant and use it to arrest people and keep them in jail, until the appear back in front of a judge. If you have a bench warrant, you need to contact your attorney as soon as possible.
Based on the Washington State Supreme Court Ruling in State v. Blake, 197 Wn.2d 170, 481 P.3d 521 (2021), convictions for Possession of Controlled Substance, aka called Violation of Uniform Controlled Substances Act (VUCSA), were not lawful. Your conviction for that charge can be vacated. You should contact our office and our Blake support staff and Blake attorney can discuss your options for having that conviction vacated. You should contact our office and our Blake support staff and Blake resource attorney can discuss your options for having that conviction vacated and to assist if you need to be resentenced.
Only a prosecuting attorney or a judge can drop or dismiss a case. Your case has been filed in the name of the State of Washington, not the name of the complaining witnesses. Even if complaining witnesses say that they do not want to see you prosecuted, they don’t have the power to get your case dismissed.
You can call the front desk and ask the receptionist or you can look on Find My Court Date.
Washington Courts provides information on how to clear your record. The paperwork is here: http://www.courts.wa.gov/forms/?fa=forms.contribute&formID=38
Many concerns can be resolved by talking directly to your public defender. Call the office at 360-578-7430. All incoming calls go through the main phone line. The receptionist can tell you who your attorney is and connect you with your attorney or your attorney’s voice mail. If you cannot discuss your concerns with your attorney, please email or send a letter. All the attorneys’ email addresses are listed in the staff directory.
If you are unable to work out the issue with your attorney, you may contact the Director of the office, Ian Maher. Your written concerns may be sent to:
Cowlitz County Office of Public Defense1801 First Avenue, Suite 1ALongview, WA 98632
You may also send an email to MaherI@cowlitzwa.gov.
If your concern is urgent, you may call the office at 360-578-7430.
Please include the following information in your letter/email/phone call:
CCOPD reviews concerns raised by our clients. CCOPD does not accept complaints from family members or other third parties on behalf of the defendant. CCOPD does not accept anonymous complaints.
Please note that complaints submitted to OPD may be subject to disclosure as a public record.
Death certificates may also be obtained from the Cowlitz County Department of Vital Statistics located in the Cowlitz County Health Department.
You are urged to read the FAQ on what items you may send an inmate. Letters sent in a plain envelope with no stickers except a stamp, written on plain white paper with non-gel pen is preferred.
The inmate telephone system is contracted through Securus Technologies. This system has the ability to automatically record telephone conversations. All parties involved are advised prior to the call acceptance that their conversation will be recorded. Inmates are now able to be left voice-mail messages. These messages are subject to a fee. Set up a phone account to leave voice-mails by calling: 360-355-3331. Inmates have daily access to phones that allow them to place calls and check for voice-mail. Jail staff will not pass notes or messages to inmates. Money on an inmate account can be applied to a "phone debit" that is used like a phone card, which will allow them to make non-collect phone calls. If the inmate is indigent, only collect phone calls are available. Set up a phone account by calling: 360-355-3331 For more information please contact: Friends & Family Support - Correctional Billing Services Consumer Customer Sales and Support 1-800-844-6591 E-mail: Customer_service@correctionalbillingservices.com
Yes. Most inmates look forward to correspondence, however, many items are restricted for security and various other reasons. If restricted items are used or sent, the inmate will not receive the mailed items until they are released.
1. Items that can be purchased on commissary (blank paper, envelopes, pens, blank cards, phone cards)
3. Unknown substances on paper, envelopes, or photos
4. Lipstick, perfume, cologne, or scented items
5. Stickers, tape, post-it notes, labels, glitter (including glitter pens), glued on items, white- out, paint
6. String, ribbon, confetti
7. Musical cards
8. Plastic, laminated items, metal objects
9. Cardboard, construction paper, cardstock
10. Polaroid pictures
11. Sexually explicit photos or materials, including nude/semi-nude photos
12. Pages torn out of books, catalogs, or magazines
13. Food items
14. Tobacco products
16. Books, magazines, or newspapers not sent directly from the publisher, book club, or recognized internet bookseller. Be careful when ordering online we cannot except used books from third-party sellers. Used books are not allowed. Any books that come in from an unauthorized source will be returned to sender.
17. Hardbound books
18. Gang related material
19. Racist or other inflammatory materials (advocating ridicule or scorn of any ethnic, racial, religious, or other group)
20. Inmate to inmate mail
21. Personal/Payroll checks
22. Any other non-listed item that is deemed a security threat. A best practice for jail correspondence is to use plain white paper with plain pen or pencil, mailed inside a plain white envelope.
All clothing and necessary personal hygiene items are provided. The Corrections Department will accept the following items: -- Prescription glasses or contacts (not contact solution) -- Court clothing for trials: Accepted starting one week prior to the trial start date. -- Medications prescribed by a licensed medical provider in their original container
At the time of booking, inmates are allowed to keep their own underwear, plain white socks, plain white t-shirts. Jail issued clothing and bedding items are provided. Undergarments and hygiene items are available for purchase through commissary.
Keys can be released up to 72 hours after incarceration. Other property will not be released. If an inmate has been sentenced to prison, property may be picked up the day after they leave our facility. Unclaimed property is held for 60 days from the date the inmate leaves the jail. If property is not claimed during the 60 day hold, it is considered abandoned and is destroyed.
**Orders placed Sunday will be recieved THAT Wednesday.**Orders placed on a Monday, Tuesday, or Wednesday will be recieved THE FOLLOWING Wednesday.
Misdemeanor Court Clerk: (360) 577-3073Felony Court Clerk: (360) 577-3017 After hours the jail will take cash bail.
The jail does not take checks and will need the exact amount of bail.We have no mechanism to make change and cannot do so under any circumstance.
As a general rule, Misdemeanor crimes are set at $500 bail, and Gross misdemeanors are $1,000 bail.
The Corrections Department will only accept: Cash Tax Refund Check SSI Check (Jail will check eligibility) Unemployment Checks (Jail will check eligibility) Checks from other Jails Misc. Government Checks We will NOT accept personal checks. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Felony Court Days:Mondays & Fridays - NoonTuesdays & Thursdays - 8amWednesdays - 11:30amWeekends: No Court occurs on the Weekends, so bonds are able to be posted at any time.
Summett manages the Cowlitz County Jail kitchen operations. The County retains three cooks who are responsible for supervising inmate workers, and preparation and service of all meals served at the jail and juvenile detention center.
Medical Co-Pay Program A $10.00 Medical Co-Pay is an Administrative fee charged to all inmates seen by medical staff and for each prescription written or refilled. This fee was implemented to help defray the overall rising cost of the Jail medical care program. A computerized system allows the Jail to maintain a history of balances due on medical/dental visits, and prescriptions written or refilled for each offender. This history allows the County to collect for those services rendered as money is received on an offender's account or if they are released from custody and return at a future date. As per the National Standards, any inmate needing medical or dental care is not denied this attention due to lack of funds.
Inmates may easily purchase hygiene items, snacks, writing materials, soft beverages and many other items that do not jeopardize the safety and security of the Jail. Profits from this program are used toward inmate programs or items that specifically benefit the offender population.
Programs range from weekly bible study, Sunday worship services, Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, Narcotics Anonymous meetings and crisis counseling.
These volunteers provide an invaluable service to the Jail and the community. They freely provide spiritual as well as emotional counseling on a weekly basis. Currently there are over 100 active dedicated volunteers.
If you are interested in becoming a volunteer at Cowlitz County Jail, please fill out and return our Contract Employee & Volunteer Background Statement.
Offender Services must qualify each person individually for these programs. Contact Offender Services for more information.
The District Court's hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday except for legal holidays.
You can check your ballot status by logging into VoteWa.gov and entering your first name, last name, and date of birth. After you log in, select "Ballot Status".
Washington State does not register by part. During primaries and general elections, you can vote for any candidate that you desire. The only time you declare a party is during a Presidential Primary, and that information is not connected to your voter registration.
You must reside in a particular taxing district in order to vote on those races and measures. You will see all races and measures in the Local Voters' Pamphlet, but your ballot will only contain the races and measures you are eligible to vote on.
Write "Return to Sender" on the envelope and place it back in the mail. We will take care of the rest. Please let us know if you are getting mail for someone no longer living at your address.
You can vote as many races on your ballot as you want. Leave blank what you don't want to vote. Contests or races left blank are counted as undervotes. This will not invalidate your ballot.
Even if someone votes more than once, only one ballot will be counted. Voters can request a replacement ballot or download an online ballot, but the system will only allow one ballot per voter to be accepted.
Yes, each of the Web Map Applications have a printer icon that you can use to print out custom maps.
Yes. The GIS department can format and print a variety of Cowlitz County maps, with custom layers, up to 60 inches wide and as long as needed.
Click on this link for more information, or fill out this Project Request Form.
GIS has data available for import directly into your GIS projects. Data can now be accessed via streaming services, so you get the most current data available. Click here for instructions to access this data. Use this link if you are familiar with the use of REST services https://www.cowlitzgis.net/ccserver/rest/services
No, all Survey data should be obtained from the Auditor's Office to ensure that the data is of Public Record.
No, Easements are considered a non-taxable item in Cowlitz County and as such are not tracked by the GIS Department. Deed and Easement information can be obtained from the Auditor's Office or by contacting a Title Company.
Yes. The program has enforcement powers and the inspectors can issue landowners an infraction ticket if the noxious weeds are not controlled once you are sent a violation letter.
Visit the Cowlitz County Health Department located at 1952 9th Avenue, Longview, WA 98632. Click here to view map and generate driving instructions. Order will be available the next business day after 2 pm.
Print and complete the Order Form and mail the completed form and payment ($25 each, check or money order made payable to CCHD) to the address provided on the order form. Orders will be mailed out the next business day via regular mail.
You can order a certified or non-certified birth certificate online through a third-party vendor called VitalChek for an additional fee. Certificates can be picked up at our 9th Avenue location or delivered to you by mail. All major credit cards are accepted including American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa. If you prefer to pick up your certificate, place your order here: https://bit.ly/3vCnguk. If you prefer to have it delivered, place your order here: https://bit.ly/3sB1ZPP.
Phone and Fax orders are not accepted at this office.
All crime reports should be made to the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over the city or county area where the crime occurred. For example, if your house was burglarized in the city limits of Longview, the Longview Police Department has jurisdiction. If your house is outside city limits in the unincorporated areas of Cowlitz County, the Cowlitz County Sheriff’s office has jurisdiction.
For emergency calls where the crime is in progress call 911.
To report a non-emergent crime that has already occurred, please call the law enforcement agency where the crime occurred. If not known then call (360) 577-3090 or (360) 577-3098.
If you are a victim or a witness of a crime, you may have to testify in court. However, many cases resolve without actually going to trial. If this happens, you will not be required to testify, as there will not be a trial. If you have concerns about testifying, contact a victim/witness provider in our office at (360) 577-3080.
If you have medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a crime, Crime Victim's Compensation may cover expenses not covered by your insurance company, including deductibles and copays. Generally speaking, you are responsible to pay most other bills. If a defendant is found guilty, he or she could be ordered to pay restitution to you and/or your insurance company. In order to have restitution ordered, you must provide the office with a summary and receipts for your losses. You can always contact our victim service providers for more information as to restitution at (360) 577-3080. Click here to view the State website and for more information: Crime Victim's Compensation
If an attorney or investigator is contacting you, they most likely work for the defense. You have the right to speak with them or to decline to speak with them. If you would like us to set up and/or attend the interview with you, you can let the person contacting you know this, or you can contact our office at (360) 577-3080 and let us contact them. You never have to speak with someone simply because they show up at your home/work or call you. Victims and witnesses often feel pressured to talk immediately, but you get to decide when and where an interview may take place and we can help with that.
There are two methods. The first and best is to register through the Washington Statewide Victim Information and Notification Service. You can register online or by phone. To register online, go to www.vinelink.com and click on Washington State. Follow the directions. To register by phone, call 1-877-846-3492. The other method is to contact the Cowlitz County Prosecutor’s office and request to speak to an advocate and they can notify the jail on your behalf. You will not be notified unless you register through one of these methods. There is no automatic notification unless you register.
Click here to go directly to the vinelink website: VINELink
If you are a witness to a crime and you must appear at trial, you will receive a subpoena from the Cowlitz County Prosecuting Attorney or another attorney in the case. The subpoena should state where and when you must appear. When you are subpoenaed for a Superior, District or Juvenile Court trial, you can check the day before trial by calling (360) 414-5505 after 5:00 PM to see what trials are scheduled for the following day. Questions about subpoenas can be answered during regular business hours, 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM, Monday - Friday, by calling our office: (360) 577-3080.
Cowlitz County responds to requests for access to public records in accordance with the Public Records Act. Information about public records can be found out at RCW 42.56 and WAC 44-14. View the Cowlitz County public records policies and procedures.
When making your request please be as specific as possible so we can conduct a thorough and accurate search.
1) Determine which department(s) you need to submit your request to.
DESCRIPTION OF DEPARTMENTS AND COMMONLY REQUESTED RECORDS
2) Submit your request(s) online to each independent department you are seeking records from.
Cowlitz County offers an online Public Records Request Portal to submit your request. Through the portal, customers have the ability to create an account, submit requests, review FAQ’s, download records, monitor the status of their current/previously submitted request(s), and communicate with county public records representatives. Review the commonly requested records prior to submitting a public records request.
SUBMIT A PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST THROUGH THE PORTAL.
Written requests: To submit a request in writing complete the Request for Public Records form and send the form to the Public Records Coordinator of the department where the record was created and maintained. Please submit a separate request to each independent department you are seeking records from.
Request for Public Records Form
Public Records Coordinators
Within five business days of receipt of the request the county will either: (1) provide the record(s); OR (2) acknowledge the request and provide a reasonable time estimate for the response; OR (3) deny the request. The County will charge a fee of $0.15 per copy plus the cost of mailing. Payment may be required before copying or mailing.
District Court Records Request: Click HERE to request district court records online.
Superior Court County Clerk Online Request Form: Click HERE to request court records online. Reasonable charges may apply. For Clerk's Office records regarding office administration, please contact the Clerk's Office at 360-577-3016 or email@example.com.
Court Records: Court records are not available online through the portal. Pursuant to WAC 44-14-01001, Court records are not subject to this Act. Access to these records is governed by court rules and common law. Most of these court records are open to the public and easily accessible through the Clerk’s Office.
Cowlitz 911 Records: 911 Records are not available on the portal. Please direct all request for such records to their office directly using the link provided below. For further information, please contact Cowlitz 911 Public Records Coordinator at (360) 414-5510 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Cowlitz 911 Records Request Link: https://cowlitz911.org/public-records-request
Click HERE for Cowlitz County Formal Public Meeting Records
Click HERE for Cowlitz County Weekly Business Meeting Records
Click HERE for Cowlitz County Board of Commissioners Public Records
Click HERE for Cowlitz County Resolutions
Click HERE for Cowlitz County Contracts
Browse Public Works Road Right-of-Way Documents or contact the Right-of-Way Department (360) 577-3030.
- Cowlitz-Wahkiakum Council of Governments (CWCOG)- City of Kelso- City of Longview- Cowlitz County- Cowlitz Economic Development Council (CEDC)- Port of Longview- Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT)
The CWCOG is leading the partnership while working closely with WSDOT, the Federal Highway Administration, other regulatory agencies, BNSF Railway, and the public.
Additional public meetings will be held as the project moves forward. The project website will provide the latest available information. To sign up for the project mailing list please click here.
Phase I of the SR 432 Rail Realignment and Highway Improvements Project is a public works project that is evaluating how to improve the entire road and rail system function of the SR 432 corridor from where it connects at I-5 out to the Port of Longview's Barlow Point property. While the SR 432 Rail Realignment and Highway Improvements Project will take potential future operations at the Millennium Bulk Terminals and Port of Longview's Barlow Point sites into account during the study, the project will continue to move forward regardless of whether Millennium Bulk Terminal's facilities receive permits for construction. The project will accommodate freight and transportation serving properties along its length.
Millennium Bulk Terminals360email@example.com
There are many levels of complexity associated with stormwater permits. A single family home generally must meet "minimum requirements” while a commercial or industrial development, will need to complete a full engineering report or plan.
When you have completed the application, Public Works will review it. Once the application has been reviewed and approved, you will take it back to Building and Planning and the Building and Planning application process will proceed.
You can use the following contacts to report spills and dumping into surface waters or storm drains or Illicit sewer and waste water connections to the stormwater drainage system:
Cowlitz County Department of Public Works at 360-577-3030 or email
Water Pollution Hotline at 360-578-0900
Department of Ecology at 360-407-6300 or email
If the flow Chart indicated "All Minimum Requirements" apply, a professional engineer is required to design a Stormwater Plan in accordance with the Cowlitz County Stormwater Manual.
Your bills are due the following 15th of the month. For example, a June billing is due July 15th. If the 15th falls on a non-business day, the due date moves to the next business day. You can still make payments up to the 15th on a non-business day, using our online payment system.
You will need to call the Cowlitz County Department of Public Works with an effective move out date. A final bill will be issued through that date. If a deposit is still on your account, it will be refunded at that time, as a credit against any remaining charges on the account.
Cowlitz County residents living in Cowlitz County or outside Washington state may apply for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) online here or at the Sheriff’s Office Monday through Friday, between 9am and 4pm, excluding holidays. The fee is $49.25 payable in cash or check in person only or debit/credit card (with administrative fee).
Walk-ins are welcome, but fingerprints appointments take priority.
Fingerprints for Cowlitz County residents living outside city limits only may be scheduled Monday - Friday between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., excluding holidays. Click here to schedule your fingerprint appointment.
You may come into the Sheriff’s Office to have civil papers served. Fees start at $40 cash for a single document and go up from there. Please bring in the paperwork you want served when you inquire about fees.
Click on the Offender Watch button in the Sex Offender section of the Sheriff’s Office website to see nearby registered sex offenders.
You may apply for a permit at the Sheriff’s Office for no fee. You will need to know the land description, hauler’s information, and landowner’s information for this permit, but can take the permit with you and bring it back filled out.
You can check which jurisdiction you live in by visiting the Assessor's Office Parcel Search and searching for your address. Under the "General Property Info" you will see jurisdiction information.
A timely 1st half payment must have a postmark of April 30. A timely 2nd half payment must have a postmark of October 31. RCW 01.12.070
In Office: We can accept checks or cash in office. During closed or busy office hours, you can use the drop box located outside of the Treasurer's Office doors, drop boxes located at the North and South entrance of the Administration Building and a Drive up drop box in the North Parking Lot of the Administration Building located at 207 4th Ave. N, Kelso. By Mail: Send a check in to: Cowlitz County Treasurer 207 N 4th Ave Kelso, WA 98626 By Credit Card: Please visit http://www.co.cowlitz.wa.us/index.aspx?NID=1874 or call 1-844-965-0200. Credit/debit card payments are also acceptable in the Treasurer's Office. All checks must be made payable to Cowlitz County Treasurer. If the payment coupon is not included please be sure to include the parcel number or property id. Your payment must be postmarked by the due date to be considered timely, otherwise interest and/or penalty will apply RCW 01.12.070.
Statements are usually mailed out by the end of February . If you have not received yours, you can print off a copy of the statement on the assessor's parcel search. Please verify that the mailing address that appears at the top of the statement is the correct address. If needed, please fill out the address change form under 'FORMS' on the right side of the screen.
Penalty happens the second month and eighth month of delinquency (only in the first year). June 1st is 3% and December is 8%.
State tax law presumes that property owners understand the responsibility of property taxes being due and payable every year. Failure to receive your tax statement is not an adequate reason for a waiver of the penalties and interest. RCW 84.56.020 RCW 84.56.025 RCW 84.56.050 *** A copy of your yearly statement is available on the Assessor's Parcel Search ***