I'm a new Washington resident. How do I register my vehicles?
When you move to Washington State, you have 30 days to title and register your vehicle. Once you do so, you’ll be issued Washington State license plates.

How to Register Your Vehicle
You may title and register your vehicle in Washington State by mail or in person at a local vehicle licensing office.

Driver Licenses

Obtaining your Washington License

By law, you have 30 days to get your Washington driver license once you establish residency in Washington State.

How to establish residency in Washington

You’re considered a Washington resident when you do any of the following:
•Arrive and begin establishing a home in Washington
•Register to vote
•Receive state benefits
•Get any Washington State license at resident rates
•Receive in-state tuition fees

Register to Vote

Register to vote online at the Secretary of State website or complete a voter registration form at any driver licensing office.

You can register to vote if you are:
•A citizen of the United States;
•A legal resident of Washington State;
•At least 18 years old by Election Day;
•Not under the authority of the Department of Corrections; and
•Not disqualified from voting due to a court order.New to Washington

Show All Answers

1. How do I contact driver licensing?
2. How do I renew my tabs?
3. I'm a new Washington resident. How do I register my vehicles?
4. How do I file a vehicle report of sale?
5. How do I find a recorded document?
6. How do I record a document?
7. How do I apply for a marriage license?