Concealed Pistol License
To apply for a concealed pistol license through our office, you must:
*Reside within Cowlitz County or outside Washington State.
*Be over the age of 21.
*Provide current government-issued photo identification with current address and your expiring CPL (if renewing).
-If you do not have your current address on your photo ID, bring a piece of mail, bank statement, vehicle registration, or utility bill.
*Be a US citizen or have a valid Alien Firearms Certificate.
*Be eligible to own firearms under Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 9.41.040 and 9.41.045.
*Not have a court order or injunction against possessing firearms.
*Not be pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a felony offense.
*Not have an order to forfeit firearms within the last year.
*Not have any outstanding warrants for any charge, from any court.
An original concealed pistol license is for if you have never applied before or expired more than 90 days ago. You may apply for an original CPL online HERE or in person at the Sheriff’s Office Monday - Thursday, between 9am and 4pm, excluding holidays.
The fee is $49.25 payable in cash or check in person only or debit/credit card (with administrative fee).
NOTE: Walk-ins are welcome as long as staffing allows, but appointments will take priority.
You can apply for a renewal concealed pistol license up to 90 days before expiration or up to 90 days after yours has expired. You may apply for a renewal CPL online HERE or in person at the Sheriff’s Office Monday - Friday, between 8:30am to 4:30pm, excluding holidays.
The fee is $32.00 payable in cash or check in person only or debit/credit card (with administrative fee). There is a $10 late fee if you renew within 90 days after your expiration date.
NOTE: Military personnel who were unable to renew on time as a result of out of state deployment/assignment may qualify for an exemption to the 90 day renewal time limit. Military applicants must apply within 90 days of returning to Washington and provide proof of deployment/assignment dates.
You can apply for a replacement concealed pistol license if your current CPL has been lost, stolen, or destroyed or if you need to update your address. You may apply for a replacement CPL online HERE or in person at the Sheriff’s Office Monday - Friday, between 8:30am to 4:30pm, excluding holidays.
The fee is $10.00 payable in cash or check in person only or debit/credit card (with administrative fee).
Q: How long will it take to receive my CPL?
A: If your application is approved, both original and renewal CPLs are mailed within 30 days of the date of application.
Q: Are there other states where is my CPL valid?
A: Yes, there are other states that recognize the Washington CPL. However, you will need to check with the local jurisdiction within each state you plan to travel with a firearm. Others states may have their own rules and restrictions. The following states have reciprocity with the Washington State CPL (verified 3/14/2023):
Michigan (WA resident only)
This list is subject to change at any time. when traveling, it is best to verify reciprocity laws of the states in which you plan to be.
Contact an Oregon Sheriff’s Office to inquire about an Oregon Concealed Handgun License.